News Ticker

QamarDeen app makes it easy to track spiritual efforts

By Maham Haq –

We all have a lot on our plates. Most of us are always in search of ways to help organize our busy work, school and social life. There are many apps and organizational tools to assist with those aspects of our lives, but what about our spiritual efforts? Do you find yourself slacking in the spiritual department due to lack of organization? QamarDeen, created by Batoul Apps, is an app that allows you to record daily prayers, Qur’an reading and charity, as well as fasting. With a user-friendly calendar view, it is easy to visualize your progress. The app is available for free for both iPhone and Android users.

Unfortunately, I know I tend to put tasks with deadlines on my list of priorities and in doing so, I neglect improving myself in a spiritual aspect and fall behind on my prayers and Qur’an recitation. After using the app, I realized I could place a personal deadline on spiritual priorities and QamarDeen does a great job of making this a really easy process.

The goals of this app are notable. Not only does QamarDeen let you track your prayers, but it lets you document how complete your prayers are. For example, if you prayed Sunnah for your prayer, you can note that. Similarly, you can record where you prayed, whether it was alone or in congregation. Another great feature is that the app lets you alter your schedule based on your gender. This allows women the option of marking “excused” on their prayer calendar when necessary.

QamarDeen was created solely for the purpose of allowing users to track their spiritual achievements in hopes of encouraging them to make progress after reflecting on their efforts. For those who are concerned about keeping their spiritual practices private, the app even allows you to create a passcode so that only you can access and track your progress.

Taking a few minutes at the end of my day to reflect on my actions, even something as small as an act of kindness that I can record as charity in the app, has really helped me clear my head before bed. I find that every night I go to sleep with a focused goal pertaining to my spiritual efforts. Thanks to QamarDeen, I have already noticed I am more inclined to complete my prayers and provide charitable actions because I am more consciously aware.

The app could use a few upgrades. Currently, the screen is fitted for an iPhone 5 which makes the app appear smaller on a larger phone. It would also be nice to see a feature that allows you to set an alert for prayers. This would help users make sure they are not neglecting their spiritual tasks amid their busy days. Overall, however, with an average rating of 4.5 out 5 stars, the app does a beautiful job of getting you to reflect on your daily actions.

 

Leave a Reply

